HoVR screenshot

HoVR is a virtual reality hover boarding demo. I created it in July 2013 for the CV-Tag, my University’s Demo day. Sadly I didn’t find the time to publish it. Since I got the opportunity to demo it on this year’s gamescom (Halle 10.2, E017), I thought it may be also a good idea to release it.

HoVR is written in Python and uses the Blender Game Engine to render it’s graphics and calculate the physics simulation. It uses the Python bindings I made and published last year for the Oculus Rift. I also made Wii Balance Girl playing HoVRBoard Python bindings. They utilize the c libraries OpenHMD for the rift and WiiC for the board. You can find python-rift and python-balanceboard in my Github, or try the Arch Linux AUR packages.

Furthermore HoVR uses assets and rendering made by Martins Upitis. He released his wonderful Blender Game Engine water demo on his blog.

You can download HoVR from my Github, or install it easily in Arch Linux with the AUR Package.

I could provide bootable USB images, if there is any interest.

Things you need:

  • Oculus Rift (tested with DK1)
  • Wii Balance Board
  • Bluetooth Dongle
  • Arch Linux or other Unix
  • Have a little talent with hacking and stuff, until I create a convenient way of running this

Windows users could try MSYS2, but they would need to port the packages. MacOS wasn’t tested, but should work theoretically.

HoVR setup in my Room

3 thoughts on “HoVR – A Blender Game Engine Demo for the Oculus Rift and the Nintendo Balance Board

  1. Hello,
    I’m playing around with a similar project. My current plan is to use Arch on a raspberry pi to receive the input from the wii balance board, then send characters (WASD) over to an attached arduino micro, which will be plugged in via usb and seen as a HID. This way the receiver unit could be plugged into any computer and immediately used as a game controller (keyboard) with zero config. Any insights, guidance, code would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Clint

  2. Hello,
    I’m playing around with a similar project. My current plan is to use Arch on a raspberry pi to receive the input from the wii balance board, then send characters (WASD) over to an attached arduino micro, which will be plugged in via usb and seen as a HID. This way the receiver unit could be plugged into any computer and immediately used as a game controller (keyboard) with zero config. Any insights, guidance, code would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Clint

Leave a Reply

